Place de la Maison Carrée
30000 Nîmes
+334 66 76 35 70
Contact
Website
Open from Tuesday to Sunday inclusive - From 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Normal rate : 8 &€;
Reduced rate : 5 &€;
Accessible to disabled people
Group visits
School visits
Contact the Culture Department
Presentation Currently Archives

Carré d’Art - Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes

PICASSO. LE TEMPS DES CONFLITS & LIGNES DE FUITE
From thursday october 25 to sunday march 3 2019

Picasso-Méditerranée is an international cultural event which has been taking place from 2017 to 2019. Over seventy institutions have come together to create a program based upon the “resolutely Mediterranean” work of Pablo Picasso. Upon the initiative of the Musée Picasso in Paris, this exploration of the artist’s works, situated in the places that inspired him, offers a new cultural experience whose goal is to strengthen the ties between all the shores of the Mediterranean.
For the exhibition at the Carré d’Art, the Musée Picasso has consented to an exceptional loan of thirty-seven works. The choice for the Carré d’Art fell upon the creations of Picasso during the agitated political period of the Second World War through to his remarkable 1951 painting, Massacre in Korea. Ever since 1937, with the creation of Guernica, Picasso experienced a period of political commitment during which he lost all hope of seeing a free Spain. These troubled times were reflected in most of the subjects - portraits, still lifes, landscapes - which he treated over the course of these years. Violence is brilliantly portrayed in La Suppliante (1937), as well as in the many portraits of Dora Maar, in which it plays a vital part. It is also present in the Weeping Woman series or Cat Catching a Bird.
The exhibition also attempts to initiate a dialogue between Picasso’s works and those of contemporary artists. There is, on the one hand, in the very heart of the space dedicated to Picasso, the presence of artists who provide perspectives on his work. Also, in parallel, the exhibition Lignes de Fuite (Vanishing Points) presents artists of different backgrounds who are directly concerned by the conflicts in the Middle East and Eastern Europe.

The exhibition Lignes de Fuite (Vanishing Points) presents four artists who, like Picasso in his time, have responded to the urgency of the conflicts raging today. They hail from the Middle East or Eastern Europe. Vanishing points evoke movement but also the transitory ; they are an open trajectories, even if they are only rarely straight and rectilinear.
Beyond the sense of urgency, sometimes vital, implied by the term fuite (“vanishing”), Lignes de Fuite refers to the necessity of escaping a given situation but also the possibilities that can be created.
Ibro Hasanovic is interested in the geopolitical changes in the former Yugoslavia and their consequences, and also evokes both collective and individual memory. He takes an interest in micro-events, focusing above all on the experience of individuals.
In The Procession, Adrian Paci has developed a body of work on the funerals of Communist dictators of different nationalities and periods. The artist has assembled fragments of video footage recovered from official State archives and televised news segments.
For several years, Mounira Al Solh has been collecting the stories and personal experiences of those caught in the political and humanitarian crises in Syria and throughout the Middle East.
Khalil Rabah founded the Riwaq Biennale in 1991 to preserve a Palestinian collective memory. From 1995 on, he has been developing the Palestinian Museum of Natural History and Humankind Project.





Directory Agenda Professional information Art in public spaces Publications Artists in Languedoc-Roussillon We appreciate your feedback ...



This site uses Google Analytics. By continuing to browse, you allow us to place a cookie for audience measurement purposes.
Learn more Refuse

Place de la Maison Carrée
30000 Nîmes
04 66 76 35 70
Contact
Site Internet
Ouvert tous les jours sauf le lundi, de 10h à 18h
Tarif normal : 8 €
Tarif réduit : 5 €
Accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite
Visites de groupe
Visites scolaires
Contacter le service culturel
Présentation ActueĮement Archives

Carré d’Art - Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes

PICASSO. LE TEMPS DES CONFLITS & LIGNES DE FUITE
Du jeudi 25 octobre au dimanche 3 mars 2019

« Picasso-Méditerranée » est une manifestation culturelle internationale qui se tient de 2017 à 2019. Plus de soixante-dix institutions ont imaginé ensemble une programmation autour de l’œuvre « obstinément méditerranéenne » de Pablo Picasso. A l’initiative du Musée national Picasso-Paris, ce parcours dans la création de l’artiste et dans les lieux qui l’ont inspiré offre une expérience culturelle inédite, souhaitant resserrer les liens entre toutes les rives.

Pour l’exposition à Carré d’Art, le Musée Picasso a consenti un prêt exceptionnel de 37 œuvres. Le choix pour Carré d’Art s’est porté sur les créations de Picasso dans les temps de troubles politiques de la seconde guerre mondiale jusqu’au remarquable tableau Massacre en Corée de 1951. Dès 1937, avec Guernica, se dessine pour Picasso une période d’engagement politique où est perdu tout espoir de retrouver une Espagne libre. Les temps troublés se retrouvent dans la plupart des sujets – portraits, natures mortes, paysages – qu’il aborde au cours de ces années. La violence s’impose de façon magistrale dans La Suppliante de 1937 et de nombreux portraits de Dora Maar mais aussi dans la série de femmes qui pleurent ou le Chat saisissant un oiseau.

L’exposition propose également d’instaurer un dialogue entre les œuvres de Picasso et des artistes contemporains. Il y a, d’une part, au cœur même de l’espace consacré à Picasso la présence d’artistes qui portent ou ont porté un regard sur son œuvre. D’autre part, en miroir, l’exposition Lignes de fuite présente des artistes de différents horizons qui sont directement concernés par des conflits au Moyen Orient et en Europe de l’Est.

L’exposition Lignes de fuite se propose de présenter quatre artistes qui comme Picasso en son temps répondent à l’urgence de conflits qui font l’actualité. Ils sont originaires du Moyen-Orient ou de l’Europe de l’Est. Parler de ligne c’est évoquer le mouvement mais aussi le transitoire. C’est une trajectoire ouverte même si elle n’est que très rarement droite et rectiligne.
Au delà de l’urgence parfois vitale sous entendue par le terme de « fuite », Lignes de fuite fait référence à la nécessité d’échapper à une situation donnée mais aussi les possibles à construire.
Ibro Hasanovic s’intéresse aux changements géopolitiques dans l’ancienne Yougoslavie et leurs conséquences en évoquant une mémoire à la fois collective et individuelle. Il s’intéresse à des micro-évènements en s’attachant avant tout à l’expérience d’individus.
Dans The Procession, Adrian Paci a développé un travail sur les funérailles de dictateurs communistes de différentes nationalités et époques. L’artiste a rassemblé des fragments de vidéos qu’il a trouvées dans des archives d’État officielles et des reportages télévisés.
Depuis plusieurs années, Mounira Al Solh collecte des histoires et des expériences personnelles provoquées par les crises politiques et humanitaires en Syrie et plus largement au Moyen Orient.
Khalil Rabah a fondé en 1991 la Riwaq Biennale pour préserver la mémoire collective palestinienne. Depuis 1995, il développe le projet du Palestinian Museum of Natural History and Humankind.

— Dossier de presse



Annuaire Agenda Informations professionnelles Art dans l’espace public Parutions Artistes en languedoc-roussillon Votre avis nous intéresse...



Ce site utilise Google Analytics. En continuant à naviguer, vous nous autorisez à déposer un cookie à des fins de mesure d’audience.
En savoir plus Refuser