Back to list
Art in
public spaces

Jean Denant


La Traversée

Public order
Sculpture - Sculpture/installation
2014
Construction
Mur dun blockhaus de la ville de Sète
Promenade du Maréchal Leclerc
34200 Sète
Project manager
Ville de Sète
Contact
Website
This work can be accessed at any time, day and night, from 1st January to 31st December, 24/7.
Free admission
Accessible to disabled people
Théâtre de la Mer parking lot
5-minute walk from the Théâtre de la Mer
The path (the crossing) of the Mediterranean

Along the road between the Théâtre de la mer and the Corniche quarter, one makes out the outline of a blockhouse, a single section of a concrete wall, overrun with asphodels or crowned with blossoming agaves.
A long, rough wall, with construction planks still showing, as if built in a hurry, like the apartment blocks on the outskirts of cities in later years. It is almost unnoticeable, deserted, despised, and has often been used as a surface for unauthorized posting. It looks out onto the sea with its gray, now blind, eyes. That was its function, down in the Golfe du Lion : keeping watch over the Mediterranean.
Jean Denant inlayed a mirror, several meters long and made out of polished steel, into the wall of the blockhouse, facing the sea.
Presently, the concrete redoubt that one would have dismantled seems pierced with an opening, like a puddle of mercury, its silvery surface hiding ancient excavations.
A cutout of the Mediterranean shoreline which, clockwise, follows the shores of France, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Greece, Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, and Spain. This silent map of the Mediterranean, the outline of which is the mental depiction of a vast landscape, in this case reflects the reality of its surroundings.
On the facing promenade, passers-by see themselves going past the mirror from north to south or conversely, under the blue line of the horizon when it meets the sky, according to the whims of the weather. As we go by, this specular work pulls us into the reflection of the Mediterranean, like the many souls who have inhabited it and still do. The sea at the center of the world is an expanse that is continuously travelled by the people who dwell on its shores.
Travels, migrations, exiles or amazing routes score this calm yet dangerous territory. And the mirror, a looking glass no doubt conceived on the volcanic banks of the Mediterranean, in Anatolia, perhaps with shiny obsidians, still inspires immemorial legends and inner journeys.

Philippe Saulle

— Interview with Jean Denant



Directory Agenda Professional information Art in public spaces Publications Artists in Languedoc-Roussillon We appreciate your feedback ...



This site uses Google Analytics. By continuing to browse, you allow us to place a cookie for audience measurement purposes.
Learn more Refuse

Revenir à la liste
Art dans
l’espace public

Jean Denant


La Traversée

Commande publique
Sculpture - Sculpture/installation
2014
Bâtiment
Mur d’un blockhaus de la ville de Sète
Promenade du Maréchal Leclerc
34200 Sète
Maître d’ouvrage
Ville de Sète
Contact
Site Internet
Cette œuvre est accessible tous les jours de l’année, à toute heure de la journée et de la nuit.
Entrée libre
Accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite
À cinq minutes à pied du Théâtre de la Mer
Le chemin (la traversée) de la Méditerranée

Le long de la route qui mène du Théâtre de la Mer au quartier de la Corniche on devine un blockhaus, juste un seul pan de mur de béton envahi par les asphodèles ou coiffé d’agaves en fleur.
Un long mur brut, épais, qui a conservé les empreintes des planches de chantier, fait dans l’urgence, comme on l’a fait plus tard des immeubles aux périphéries des grandes villes. Il est à peine visible. Abandonné, méprisé, il a souvent servi de support d’affichages sauvages. Il guette la mer de ses yeux gris aujourd’hui aveugles. C’était sa fonction, au creux du Golfe de Lion, de surveiller la grande bleue.
Jean Denant installe un reflet de plusieurs mètres de long, fait d’acier poli fixé, incrusté même, dans ce mur du blockhaus, face à la mer.
La redoute de béton que l’on aimerait bien voir disparaître semble dès lors percée d’un orifice, comme une mare de mercure dont la surface argentée cacherait d’antiques excavations.
Une découpe de la cartographie côtière méditerranéenne qui, dans le sens des aiguilles d’une montre, épouse les côtes de France, d’Italie, de Slovénie, de Croatie, de Bosnie-Herzégovine, du Monténégro, d’Albanie, de la Grèce, de Turquie, de Syrie, du Liban, d’Israël, de la Palestine, d’Égypte, de Libye, de Tunisie, d’Algérie, du Maroc, d’Espagne. Cette carte muette de la Méditerranée, dont le dessin est la représentation mentale d’un immense paysage, reflète ici la réalité de son paysage.
Sur la promenade qui lui fait face, le passant se voit lui-même traversant le miroir du nord ou sud, ou l’inverse, sous la ligne bleue de l’horizon quand elle rejoint le ciel, selon les caprices du temps, bien sûr. Œuvre spéculaire qui nous intègre - de passage - dans ce reflet de Méditerranée, comme autant d’âmes l’ont peuplée et la peuplent encore. La mer au milieu du monde est un pays sans cesse traversé par les habitants de ses rivages.
Voyages, migrations, exils ou routes mirifiques sillonnent ce pays calme et pourtant si dangereux. Et, le miroir, psyché probablement imaginé sur des rives volcaniques de la méditerranée, en Anatolie, sans doute dans de luisantes obsidiennes, inspire toujours d’immémoriales légendes et nos voyages intérieurs.

Philippe Saulle

— Entretien avec Jean Denant



Annuaire Agenda Informations professionnelles Art dans l’espace public Parutions Artistes en languedoc-roussillon Votre avis nous intéresse...